Supplements For The Superhuman

Posted on February 7, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Ok, I just finished not 1, not 2, not 3, but EIGHT sets of biceps curls!  Specifically, standing, alternating dumbbell curls.  I mixed it up between hammer curls and traditional dumbbell curls, so that I worked the whole biceps muscle (including the brachialis), and not just the famous peak of the biceps (brachii).  Here is a picture to better illustrate:

The "Hammer Curl"

Any who, as soon as I finished, I took in 20 grams of whey protein, specifically whey protein isolate.  While I was mixing up my chocolate protein powder in a glass of water, I realized that I have not yet posted about what supplements I’ll be using while voyaging on this journey of superhuman attainment!  The topic was bound to come up, so what better time than now?  Ok, so obviously I will be using whey protein as my post-weight training supplement, but I’m also using a whole host of other supplements as well.  Without further ado…my Superhuman Supplement Stack!

1. Biochem Whey Protein Isolate

It’s not the tastiest protein, but it is a high quality and very natural one.  It’s sweetened with a little bit of natural cane sugar, and stevia, a plant-based natural sweetener.  There are probably better proteins out there, but this one I got for free, so what can I say?

2. Rainbow Light Men’s One Daily Multivitamin

Like the protein above, there are better multivitamins out there, but this one I also happened to get for free.  The health food store that I work at received this one on accident so I was allowed to keep it.  And when you’re building your cash reserves for reinvestment in your business, you’ll make do with the free multivitamin.  After all, it is still a good quality multivitamin, with a full spectrum of minerals, as well as whole food concentrates (which are little bits of real food that help deliver the vitamins and minerals into your system for maximum absorption). 

3. Irwin Naturals Yohimbe Plus

Believe it or not, I also got this one for free too!  I guess in retrospect I’m a pretty lucky guy!  Occasionally a company who we buy from will send the employees free product for selling so much, and I happened to get this one.  Yohimbe is a stimulant and male health supplement.  In other words, it gives you energy and gets you aroused!  Although I don’t take it for the latter, I do take one capsule daily with a cup of coffee for energy (coffee alone just doesn’t do it for me).  This brings me to my next supplement, and yes this is a supplement:

4. Caffeine

Coffee, I’m sure you know, is a natural source of caffeine.  Ashlee and I have had one of those Keurig brewers, so I simply pop in a dark roast K-cup and let er’ rip!  I don’t add anything to it except 2 or 3 stevia packets.  Usually I use stevia in the raw, pictured below:

Stevia is known for having a bitter, licorice-like after taste, and I find that Stevia in the Raw doesn’t have that particular aftertaste, rather, it’s just sweet, so it makes for good use in coffee or tea.  On days that I don’t feel like having coffee, I usually drink a Redline.  Be warned though, Redline is much more potent than Red Bull so do NOT confuse the two.

Redline RTDs (Ready-To-Drink) give you insane energy!

Obviously there are other supplements that you can add to your supplement stack.  For now, in terms of the physical, I’m going after superhuman flexibility and superhuman fighting ability, so the above supplements suffice.  In the future, when I’m going for strength, I’ll also be adding in creatine, glutamine, arginine or some sort of nitric oxide (“N.O.” for short) booster.  Also, when I’m sick, I use a whole different set of supplements, which I will go over in a future post.  For now, I only wanted to talk about the supplements I’m using for athletic performance.  Until next time…

Stay positive, stay fearless,

James Hallmark

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

One Response to “Supplements For The Superhuman”

RSS Feed for Humanetix: Becoming a Real-Life Superhuman Comments RSS Feed

James, you are a beast! Your youthful appetite is actually starting to motivate me further. I’ve gone through various stages of learning & physical fitness in life… you know, peaks and valleys. Sometimes I go all in for a while and workout like a beast, eat really well and even take supplements, study a new language or tackle some computer programming. Keep going, man! Power perceived is power achieved.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...