Is Dr. Oz a Charlatan?

Posted on February 11, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Oprah can make anyone famous.

First, I’ll update you on my superhuman training. So my arms are finally recovered for the most part, with the exception of my triceps that are still sore when I flex them (and that workout was Tuesday)! I’ve been really keeping up with my mental workouts as well as my physical ones, even with a regular job and a girlfriend. My wavemaster heavy bag is at my parents house since I left it there when I moved out, so I’m waiting for a warm day when I can clean it off outside, and transport it back to my apartment. At that point, I’ll even convert it into a makiwara striking post to toughen my hands, but I’ll save that for a future post.

And now for the topic of the day. Is Dr. Oz a charlatan? In my opinion, yes and no. He’s right about many things. He tells his audience that they should take fish oil and astaxanthin, which help with inflammation, he brings models of human anatomy on stage to show the effects of a particular unhealthy habit, which is good. However, I have a ton of people coming into the health food store that I work at for things like “Raspberry Ketones,” and “Brown Seaweed extract,” and “White Kidney Bean Extract,” and now, “Pyruvate.” This is by far the most hilarious, because pyruvate is old. I’m talking old as in it had it’s heyday about 15 years ago.

Pyruvate is an old supplement, but Dr. Oz is making it seem like it's a hot new item.

So is Raspberry ketones and white kidney bean supplements, which have been around for years under the labels of “carb blockers,” or “starch blockers.” And what’s worse is that many of the customers who have spent their hard-earned money on these products come back and tell me that they don’t work, and even try to return them (when there’s 10 pills left in a 90-pill jar 🙂 ; hey, I can’t blame em’)

One person even told me that they think Dr. Oz should be sued for false advertisement, although he’s not advertising his own line of products. I feel bad for these people. You can really see the confidence in their eyes and hear the inflection in their voice when they honestly believe that the product they’re buying is going to make a difference, usually in terms of weight loss, and that after they finish the bottle, they’re going to look how they’ve always wanted to look.

Only, they usually come back and tell me how it didn’t work. It’s at this point that I’ll explain to them that no weight loss pill in the world will replace a good diet and exercise, and if they want to take supplements it has to be the fundamentals like a multivitamin, CLA, some protein powder as a possible meal replacement or late night snack, etc.

So, what do you think. Is Dr. Oz a charlatan? Let me know, I’m always interested in what my readers think.

Stay positive, stay fearless,
James Hallmark

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...